Note: If you are an Oportun secured personal loans borrower or hold an Oportun® Visa® Credit Card, closing your account will not affect your personal loans or credit cards status.
How do I close account?
In the app:
1) Tap into Profile & settings (person icon in upper-left corner)
2) Under Settings, choose Subscription
3) On the next screen, tap Close my account
What happens when I close my account?
After closing your account, your savings will automatically be returned to your linked bank account within 1-5 business days. We will send you an email with details of your money heading back to you and confirm that your account is closed out.
We retain your contact information for up to 30-days in case there is any trouble returning your saved balance to you and we need to get in touch.
I deleted the Oportun app - is my account closed?
Just deleting or uninstalling the app does not close your account or unlink your bank account - you need to go through the above steps and confirm your close request in order to stop saves from Oportun, remove your linked bank info, and have your saved money returned to you.