Since all Digit debits follow ACH schedules, they are created a business day before they are debited from your checking account.
Closing a goal does not stop saves that are already confirmed and pending.
If you deleted your goal with saves already created and pending towards it, those will be automatically returned to checking as soon as the funds clear Digit, typically 3 business days after they were created in our system. After deleting a goal, you'll receive a confirmation email detailing your goal balance being returned to checking, as well as any saves that are still pending towards it.
You can check what state your saves and withdrawals from deleted goals are in by logging in to your Digit dashboard at Digit.co and checking your Savings Journal.